STYLE

OUR

STYLES

Formost is primarily looking for quality and really "good products". If something has a long tradition and is still produced today, this alone speaks for a timeless solution. Knowing the environment and the ideas from which a product was born becomes a story that we like to tell as much as about the people we are working with.

deutsches design

deutsches design

Deutsches Design und Handwerkskunst

All German-speaking regions can look back on centuries-old craft traditions, in which in some cases highly specialised knowledge was passed on from master craftsmen to the next generation. The choice of materials, tools and processing methods, together with craftsmanship, local traditions and a sense of beauty, determine the 'design' of the product.  


German design refers to several very different sources and origins, including very emotional ones. It finds a balance between romanticism and stringent straightforwardness, between sober ergonomics and thoroughly sensual qualities. Typical characteristics are a well thought-out concept, a solid choice of material, and a technically demanding execution. Even when recourse to earlier design epochs provides a certain playfulness, German design is extremely serious.


Perhaps it is this seriousness that makes German design so successful internationally.

News & Stories

Show all
Please wait

STIL

UNSERE

STILE

Formost sucht in erster Linie nach Qualität und wirklich „guten Waren“. Wenn etwas heute noch produziert wird, dass eine lange Tradition hat, spricht allein das für eine zeitlose Lösung. Das Umfeld und die Ideen zu kennen, aus denen ein Produkt hervorging, wird dann zu einer Geschichte, von der wir genauso gern erzählen wie von den Menschen hinter den Produkten.

deutsches design

deutsches design

Deutsches Design und Handwerkskunst

Alle deutschsprachigen Regionen blicken auf jahrhundertealte Handwerkstraditionen zurück, in denen teils hochspezialisiertes Fachwissen von Meistern auf den Nachwuchs weitergegeben wurde. Materialwahl, Werkzeuge und Bearbeitungsmethoden bestimmten bei dieser Produktionsweise zusammen mit handwerklichem Können, lokalen Traditionen und dem Sinn für die schöne Form das ‚Design‘ der Produkte.  


Deutsches Design bezieht sich auf sehr verschiedene Quellen und Ursprünge; darunter auch sehr emotionale. Es findet Ausdrucksformen zwischen Romantik und stringenter Geradlinigkeit, zwischen nüchterner Ergonomie und durchaus sinnlichen Anmutungsqualitäten. Typische Wesenszüge sind eine durchdachte Konzeption, die gediegene, solide Materialwahl und eine technisch anspruchsvolle Ausführung. Auch wenn Rückgriffe auf frühere Design-Epochen bisweilen für eine gewisse Verspieltheit sorgen, so ist das Deutsche Design doch ausgesprochen seriös. 

Vielleicht ist es diese Ernsthaftigkeit, die das Deutsche Design international immer noch so erfolgreich macht.

Perhaps it is this seriousness that makes German design so successful internationally.

Bitte warten